Castlevania 2: Simons Quest (1987) Review

What a horrible night to have a curse.

Castlevania_II_Europe_box_art

Before reading this review please check out my review of the first Castlevania game

https://ragglefragglereviews.com/2018/07/06/castlevania-nes-review/

simons-quest-header

Castlevania 2 Simons Quest is a 1987 NES action plat-former created by Konami, it takes place many years after the first game. During the final boss battle of the first Castlevania Dracula’s body parts are spread across the land and Simon is cursed, this curse does not affect Simon for a very long time and its during the events of Castlevania 2 that Simon Belmont must find the various body parts of Dracula and burn them in an attempt to remove the curse.

simonsquest3

The game is very different to its predecessor, while it is an adventure plat-former it executes this completely differently, this game is much slower due to players having to grind enemies to earn heart currency, a lot of very cryptic puzzle solving and back tracking is also required for players to progress through the game. The puzzles in this game are really unfair and too cryptic for players to figure out without using a guide, a prime example is having to kneel down next to a lake, after a few seconds stairs and a platform appear that allow you to walk into the lake that would normally kill you instantly, another really frustrating part of the game are fake blocks that appear everywhere and most of the time they kill you, you can see through these by throwing holy water but this becomes very boring when you are throwing holy water every step in the castles to avoid a fall to your death.

Castlevania_II_SimonsQuest_Part4_61_CristalRougeFalaiseDeborah

There are many objects you can acquire in the game by either killing bosses or buying them from NPC’s, for me the most useful item was the holy water as it helped to destroy fake blocks and made killing enemies that were below me very easy. The sacred flame is another very useful item that makes a wall of fire that can do serious damage to enemies however it costs currency to use it. You can find use in some of Dracula’s body parts for example you can use his rib as a shield to deflect fire balls and his heart can be shown to the ferryman to find a path to one of the castles.

hqdefault (1)

There are not many bosses in the game and all of them are really easy including the final boss, the two other bosses you encounter can just be ignored unless you want to fight them for new weapons.

Castlevania-2-What-a-Horrible-Night-to-Have-a-Curse

What many people dislike about this game is the day to night cycle and vice versa, it happens on a time loop and really has no point to it other than the illusion of days passing, it really sucks because you cant use towns during night time and you may need to heal or buy a new whip or sub-weapon and a lot of the time you will find your self just waiting around for time to pass.

The soundtrack is great I prefer this to the music in the original game because I feel its a lot more immersive and each track has a great beat to it, my favourite song in the game is bloody tears, this is the song that I associate with the Castlevania series, its a fun and adventurous track that suits the game-play style perfectly.

Castlevania 2: Simons Quest is one of the most hated games in the series for a lot of the reasons I covered in this review, however while it may seem that I have complained a lot about the game, I really do not think that its as bad as its made out to be, yeah its slow and cryptic and the day to night cycle will make you want to tear your hair out but it is a much more immersive game as you will be talking to a lot of town folk and finding religious churches to recover health, the majority of it takes place outside of Dracula’s castle and provides a lot of really memorable areas and enemies, its has a very creepy feeling to it which is perfect for this series and the platforming while at times frustrating for the most part works quite well. I wouldn’t say it a good game but I wouldn’t say its a bad game either.

5/10

I hope you enjoyed this review of Castlevania 2: Simons Quest (1987)

Happy Halloween 2019

If you would like to help support the website please use the donation button at the top of the page, your donations will help to improve the website by allowing me to afford products to review and to be able to execute any costly updates and changes, any amount in donations are welcome.

Thank You for all of your support.

Want me to review a specific game/movie/product or do you have a general question you would like me to answer? if so please email me at ragglefragglereviews@gmail.com

 

Advertisements

Will Vinton’s Claymation Comedy of Horrors (1991) Review

x1080

In a forest on Halloween Sheldon Snail and Wiltshire Pig are testing out a new carnival ride on their friend Vince, the caring Sheldon is worried for his friends safety while Wiltshire Pig is more interested in making a large profit from those who ride it.

images (1)

After an accident with the ride causes a crater to be made in the ground, the two friends discover Frakenswines Diary which tells the story of the mad scientist and the monster he created, Wiltshire Pig is overly excited about this as directions to the doctors castle and lab are left in the diary encouraging both Sheldon and Wiltshire to seek them out in hopes of finding the monster.

8f080184dc523f2a94ad4ffa8b070e0f--happy-halloween-motionclayhalloween8

The entire movie is made using Claymation and is very impressive to look at and admire for how creative the project is, we don’t see much claymation work these days so this was very nostalgic to someone like me that grew up in an age where this style of animation was regularly used in movies and television.

The short is very funny and charming, the funniest parts are when Wiltshire Pig is trying to convince the monsters in the castle that he’s not alive so that they wont harm him or throw him out, the most hilarious encounter is with his dead grandmother, Wiltshire never attended her funeral and begins to panic trying to give an excuse as to why.

claymation_halloween_02

My favourite clay model in the short was a fat green monster that Sheldon and Wiltshire meet when they first enter the castle, the Frankenswine Monster was also a really fun design and its personality was unexpected and hilarious after all of the effort the duo went through to find it.

I had never heard of this special until today and after watching it I think its going to end up being an annual occurrence to me, the whole special was really funny and the animation style was fantastically made and a joy to watch, I would highly recommend checking this short animation out, as of this review the film is available on YouTube and I assure you it is excellent. I only wish it was a little bit longer as I enjoyed it so much.

9.5/10

I hope you enjoyed this review of Will Vinton’s Claymation Comedy of Horrors (1991)

Happy Halloween 2019

If you would like to help support the website please use the donation button at the top of the page, your donations will help to improve the website by allowing me to afford products to review and to be able to execute any costly updates and changes, any amount in donations are welcome.

Thank You for all of your support.

Want me to review a specific game/movie/product or do you have a general question you would like me to answer? if so please email me at ragglefragglereviews@gmail.com

Dracula’s Daughter (1936) Review

Before reading this review use the link below to check out my review of Dracula from 1931

https://ragglefragglereviews.com/2017/10/07/dracula-1931-review/

draculas-daughter-movie-poster-md

As a sequel to one of the greatest  horror classics of all time its a very difficult task to try and replicate the influential masterpiece of the 1931 film starring Bela Lugosi. This film does not have Lugosi to give his chilling performance so the new vampire played by Gloria Holden had to really try and wow audiences.

photo-La-Fille-de-Dracula-Dracula-s-Daughter-1936-1

Gloria Hoden pictured here next to co star Irving Pichel was a beauty on the screen and gives a wonderful performance by portraying a character that does not want to be a monster but is still driven to hurt and kill others in order to get her fix of human blood.

download

dd1

The film begins where the last movie ended, Van-Helsing (Edward Van Sloan) had just slain Count Dracula but he is unfortunately captured by two policeman who arrest him and take him to Scotland Yard for questioning

draculas_daughter_02

While Van-Helsing is in custody the Countess Marya Zaleska steals her fathers body and burns it in the hope of turning her into a mortal as she is desperate to remove her cravings for blood and live free of the curse of being a vampire.

The movie is tragic and very sad, you really feel sorrow for the Countess and are left on the edge of your seat praying that Van-Helsing can prove that Vampires exist and is able to save himself from the gallows or a sanitarium. Van-Helsing calls for Dr Garth (Otto Kruger) a Psychiatrist and one of his ex-students for help defending his sanity.

draculasd1

Draculas Daughter does not have the same impact as the original film but I wouldn’t say its only because of a lack of Bela Lugosi but also because both of the films have a different atmosphere and pacing, the original film was creepy and slow but this one is faster paced and at times rather comical, I would argue that Dracula (1931) was scarier but that Dracula’s Daughter is more entertaining due to it packing more of a punch and is a lot more lively

I hope you enjoyed this review of Dracula’s Daughter (1936)

Happy Halloween 2019

If you would like to help support the website please use the donation button at the top of the page, your donations will help to improve the website by allowing me to afford products to review and to be able to execute any costly updates and changes, any amount in donations are welcome.

Thank You for all of your support.

Want me to review a specific game/movie/product or do you have a general question you would like me to answer? if so please email me at ragglefragglereviews@gmail.com

Wario Land: Super Mario Land 3 (1994) Review

334802-wario-land-super-mario-land-3-game-boy-front-cover

Wario Land: Super Mario Land 3 is the follow up to the highly successful Super Mario Land 2: Six Golden Coins. It has Wario as the main playable character which was a first for the Mario Universe.

maxresdefault

After being booted out of Mario’s castle in Mario Land 2, Wario travels to kitchen Island hoping to steal a golden statue of Princess Peach from the notorious Sugar Pirates, he will then sell the statue back to Mario for the cost of a new castle.

warioland-3ds-1

In a similar fashion to Mario Land 1 and 2 Wario Land is a 2D platformer but this game is not as simple as getting from point A to point B because it has a new style of gameplay that helps it to stand out compared to its predecessors.

hqdefault

Your main goal in Wario Land is to collect coins, you can find many coins in the 40 levels of the game and you can also use keys to open doors to hidden treasures that will add value to your final money count.

Wario can also collect hearts and once enough are collected he will earn a new life.

In the game Wario can also find items to help him traverse the stages. these items come in the form of hats allowing him to ram, fly and and breathe fire onto his enemies and certain terrain.

uns

The boss fights in this game are the best in the Super Mario Land series, there is boss for every world and they are all very unique and they cannot all be defeated in the same manner, some can be jumped on but others need to be attacked with certain items or by having items thrown at them.

hqdefault (1)

After every level Wario can play one of two minigames, one allows him to throw items at enemies to earn more heart points and the other is a gambling game where he can earn more coins, I really struggled with the heart game so I stuck with the coin game throughout my playthrough.

The best part of collecting money in the game is that how much you collect will determine your final reward, I was lucky enough to get my own planet which is the highest reward, I recommend finding all of the treasures because it is a lot of fun and they are quite easy to find once you get the hang of the game.

The soundtrack is ok for the game but its really not anything special, I had the same issue with the Super Mario Land 2 soundtrack so hopefully the music is better in the later Wario Land games.

wario-land-gameplay

A lot of the levels look very similar in design which is fine but I would of preferred the developers to take more inspiration from the different worlds of the game and maybe tried to theme the levels to suit the foods they are based on.

Wario Land: Super Mario Land 3 is the best game in the Super Mario Land trilogy, it is a lot of fun and gave the series a new spin in its gameplay and platforming, I love the idea of getting different rewards based on how well you did in the game as it added a lot of replay value. The game is very easy but is a lot of fun, my only complaints are the similar stage designs and the medicore soundtrack but putting these two things aside this is possibly one of the best games for the original Gameboy and was a great debut for Wario as a playable character.

9/10

hope you enjoyed this review of Wario Land: Super Mario Land 3 for the Nintendo Game Boy.

If you would like to help support the website please use the donation button at the top of the page, your donations will help to improve the website by allowing me to afford products to review and to be able to execute any costly updates and changes, any amount in donations are welcome.

Thank You for all of your support.

Want me to review a specific game/movie/product or do you have a general question you would like me to answer? if so please email me at ragglefragglereviews@gmail.com

Super Mario Land 2: 6 Golden Coins (1992) Review

91x1gsV0G3L._SX342_

Super Mario Land 2: 6 Golden Coins was released for the Nintendo Gameboy in 1992, It is the sequel to the 1989 game Super Mario Land.

maxresdefault

While Mario was in Sarasa Land during the events of Super Mario Land his home island as well as his castle has been taken over by his evil counterpart Wario, Wario has brainwashed the island inhabitants making them attack Mario leaving him no choice but to defeat Wario and claim back his home and save the island.

mapThe game uses a world map which allows players to choose stage locations in any order they please, this is really cool and was a first for a Mario game, I always play the game starting from the left side of the map working my way clockwise across the zones

 

 

There are six worlds in the game and completing each world will earn you a golden coin and you need all of them to take on the final stage and boss.

My favourite worlds are the space zone because you can float making the platforming much more challenging than the rest of the game which is very easy and I love the pumpkin zone because of its creepy imagery.

If you use the route I do you will tackle each world in this order

Tree Zone

Space Zone

Macro Zone

Pumpkin Zone

Mario Zone

Turtle Zone

All of the worlds have a different theme and each one stands out due to how they mix up the game play for example as previously mentioned the space zone adds anti gravity, the turtle zone is mostly water based and the macro zone has the player shrunken to the size of an ant.

 

 

Every world has its own boss and they all very creative, however they are all very easy to beat.super-mario-land-2-tree-zone

The game has the usual Mario items such as mushrooms, power flowers and power stars but one new addition is introduced here and that is the bunny ears, if Mario finds a carrot he will grow bunny rabbit ears which allow him to float through the air, this is the best item in the game in my opinion and it makes the adventure much easier than it should be.

SML2_Minigame_1

In each stage if you hit the highest bell at the end of a level you can play a mini game, there are two types you play one uses a crane and the other one is a game where you have to create a path for electricity.

A final note is that with the money you collect in the game you can use it in special zone where you can win multiple prizes and lives.

The soundtrack is nothing special but I do really like it, its got very simple tunes and melody’s which all suit each zone and the levels that they represent however none of the music really stands out and I wouldn’t say its that memorable.

Super Mario Land 2: 6 Golden Coins is a great game and is a lot better than its predecessor, the developers took a different approach with this one and it works really well even with its odd premise and weird design for a Mario game, it also introduced us to Wario who would eventually go on to spawn his own popular video game series Wario Land, Wario World and Wario Ware. The game is really easy and can be finished in just a few hours but that does not take away from the experience and this is one weird Mario adventure you do not want to miss.

I really hope for a HD remake one day.

8.5/10

I hope you enjoyed this review of Super Mario Land 2: Six Golden Coins for the Nintendo Game Boy.

If you would like to help support the website please use the donation button at the top of the page, your donations will help to improve the website by allowing me to afford products to review and to be able to execute any costly updates and changes, any amount in donations are welcome.

Thank You for all of your support.

Want me to review a specific game/movie/product or do you have a general question you would like me to answer? if so please email me at ragglefragglereviews@gmail.com

The Legend of Zelda: Links Awakening (Nintendo Gameboy/Nintendo Switch) Review

hqdefault

The Legend of Zelda: Links Awakening was released in 1993 for the Nintendo Gameboy, it was the first handheld game in the series and is by far the strangest. The game was re-released in 1998 for the Gameboy colour which is the version I am going to be focusing on in this review. I will be discussing the 2019 remake for the Nintendo Switch as well in order to see if it is better than the original.

links_awakening_title

After the events of The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past, Link travels by boat to various islands to train his skills however during one of his voyages a storm destroys the boat and causes him to be washed up on Koholint Island.

download

He is rescued by a young girl called Marin who takes him to her house, after Link recovers his sword a mysterious owl tells him that he must wake up the wind fish to go home, the wind fish is inside of a giant egg on top of a mountain and Link must recover eight instruments from dungeons to wake him up.

download

images

026

046

Links awakening mostly follows a very similar pattern to the games before it as you will need to travel across Koholint Island solving puzzles, meeting new characters, discovering dungeons and defeating bosses, two new items are introduced in this game, one of them is rocs feather which allows Link to jump over small gaps and attack flying enemies and the other is the Ocarina which Link can learn to play music on to trigger events in the game such as teleportation, raising the dead and eventually opening the final dungeon.

10881653-3

2D side scrolling sections return in this game but they are executed much better than they were in Zelda 2, these are short and sweet and are a lot of fun, they are also the best places to find enemies from the Super Mario series. Mario enemies are all over this game its really cool and fits the sillier nature of the title, when you play the game you will realise that it is quite silly and comedic, this a Zelda game that does not need to be taken seriously and that is something I would like to see more of in the future.

400px-LA_P_002

There are a few things that I feel really hold back this game from being one of the better games in the series. The map is really confusing as nothing is easy to find, almost all of the buildings look the same and are labelled as shops, I really wanted to collect all of the photographer pictures but when I tried to find the the building before I took on the final boss I could not find it and eventually gave up.

I also think that a lot of secrets or dungeons are too cryptic and hard to figure out in this title, some things are more obvious than others but a lot of the time because the dungeons all look so similar you will find your self pulling out your hair trying to get through them.

I think all of these issues could have been fixed with some labels added to the map and I can only hope that the 2019 version of the game fixes this.

la7-5c (1)

Visually the game looks really good, for the gameboy’s limitations the developers pushed the system to put out  lots of colours and great animations.

I love this soundtrack, its really charming and fits the games setting really well, there are some classic Zelda tracks thrown in so you cant really go wrong, my favourite music is from Mabe village.

The Legend of Zelda: Links Awakening is an odd game to say the least, its very charming and to a lot of people its one of the best in the series, I personally enjoy the game but I don’t think it doesn’t have its faults. The confusing map added a lot of stress to my play-through but apart from that this is a good title and I would like to see a sillier game in the series again.

Recently the game has been remade for the Nintendo Switch

cq5dam.thumbnail.319.319

On September 20th 2019 a new HD remake of Links Awakening was released on the Nintendo Switch, the game came with a beautiful graphical upgrade and new and impressive renditions of the music, the new soundtrack is fantastic and is just as enjoyable as the originals soundtrack.

Here is the soundtrack if you would like the compare the two

Unfortunately due to the game only releasing in the last 24 hours I could only find the soundtrack as one video however the up-loader has added time marks to skip tracks.

This game is filled with bug fixes and small improvements to the original game but I am only going to focus on the changes that I feel will have the biggest impact on returning players.
3542490-zelda 9

I love the new visuals, the game is extremely colourful and is a joy to look at, the designers took a very child friendly and almost toy inspired design for the game and it suits the silly nature of the adventure perfectly. the game is packed with wonderful visuals and smooth animations including a fully animated opening cut scene.

Switch_TLOZLinksAwakening_E3_screen_06_bmp_jpgcopy.0

Some other important changes are new ways to play some of the minigames which are now much more challenging in my opinion, a much easier to read map that allows the player to place markers, the option to choose where to land after using warp pads and key items being assigned to buttons meaning that players do not have to go the inventory all of the time.

dims

For me the worst part of the remake is its dungeon creator mode which replaces the photography in the game, players can use areas from dungeons they have finished to build new dungeons that they and their friends can play through. I generally do not enjoy creative game experiences like this so the loss of the photography which was my favourite part of the original game was a little upsetting for me.

Lack of photography or not it would be unfair to say that this is not the superior version of the game, it looks and sounds better and makes the experience a little less tedious than it used to be and that is exactly what you should expect from a remake, the developers put their hearts and souls into this and the outcome was a very good Zelda remaster.

Links Awakening DX – 8.4/10

Links Awakening 2019 – 9.3/10

I hope you enjoyed this review of The Legend of Zelda: Links Awakening

If you would like to help support the website please use the donation button at the top of the page, your donations will help to improve the website by allowing me to afford products to review and to be able to execute any costly updates and changes, any amount in donations are welcome.

Thank You for all of your support.

Want me to review a specific game/movie/product or do you have a general question you would like me to answer? if so please email me at ragglefragglereviews@gmail.com

Mega Man Legacy Collection 2 (2017) Review

I would recommend reading my review of  the first Mega Man Legacy Collection before reading this review

https://ragglefragglereviews.com/2018/02/24/mega-man-legacy-collection-2015-review/

Mega Man Legacy Collection 2 is a set of Mega Man games that was released in 2017, the set contains Mega Man 7 through 10

I really enjoyed the original Mega Man Legacy Collection so I was eager to dive into this one when I got the chance.

Mega Man 7 (1995)

81o99xyQoGL._AC_SL1500_

Wow Capcom really stepped up their box art game for this one, its really awesome and has loads of detail, the past games had some interesting box art but most of them were quite odd choices for the games they represented.

MM7-Promo-Art

Six months after finally imprisoning Dr Wily, Dr Wily’s Laboratory reactivates releasing four robot masters who have been programmed to find their master, these Robots attack Dr Light and bring chaos to the city, all of this was a ruse to cover his escape from prison leaving Mega Man to once again set out to defeat Wily and save the day.

hqdefaultThe start really puts a lot players off at first is because it begins with an introduction stage that has a lot of unskippable dialogue the second reason is that at first due to the plot of the game you can only choose to fight four robot masters which is a step down compared to the previous games which allowed you to pick from all eight.

largeApart from these two things the rest of the game is really great, it adds so much to franchise that really brought a lot to the table. The game looks fantastic thanks to its 16 bit upgrade, it has a lot of fluent animations and very innovative stage and enemy designs.

hqdefault (1)

The game is packed to the brim with secrets and hidden upgrades to add to your arsenal, stages have multiple paths that can be found in order to obtain these secrets adding a lot of replay value to the game.

MM7_RightotShop2

A shop has finally been introduced to the series making it much easier to obtain Energy Tanks. Lives and Weapon Energy, you can purchase these with currency you can find in the game.

MM7_DWno55_ShadeMan

The robot masters in this game are really cool, they all have very well themed stages and all their attacks patterns match their personalities perfectly my favourite stage and fight in the game is against Shade Man.

I really like this game but many people do not and while I understand why that is, I had a lot of fun with this one, it added a lot to the series and the secrets are really fun to find especially Proto man and if you find him enough times in the game you can fight him to obtain his shield. I will say that this game is really hard and it is not very forgiving the final boss almost made me rage quit which does not often happen for me.

Mega Man 8 (1997)

mega_man_8_gh__51996.1397742076

I think this might be the worst box art we have come across so far, its really boring and has almost no detail to it apart from Mega Man himself who to be fair looks great.

Mm8promo

Two Robots fall from space after fighting each other, at this time Mega Man and Rush are also in an intense battle against rival Bass however the fight is interrupted by Roll who brings a message from Dr Light asking Mega Man to investigate strange energy readings he picked up on an Island that is close by. On the Island Dr Wily is spotted flying away with a purple orb. Mega Man chases down Dr Wily soon to discover new robot masters and the fallen robots.

maxresdefault

There was a lot of changes to this game and for the most part they work well enough, the first is the new graphics, due to the game taking place on a disc based system it was able to push extremely smooth animations and the visuals were the best we had seen in a Mega Man game so far, they even had voices for characters during game-play which helped to add a lot of personality.

download

Another addition thanks to Disc technology was fully animated cut-scenes and even though the voice acting was abysmal the animations were amazing.

109100-mega-man-8-anniversary-edition-playstation-screenshot-stage

You can still only choose from four robot masters at first but again it makes sense due to the way the plot develops in the game, I do miss being able to choose out of all eight though. The shop also returns here but its for upgrades to Mega Man and his Mega Buster as energy, weapon and super tanks are not in the game.

CXcIDY

The game really mixes up its game play by adding new maze platforming sections and terrible on rails sections that will have you tearing your hair out. These on rails sections are the hardest part of the game and while they are extremely annoying the rest of the game is a breeze, I found no trouble in surviving and beating bosses, even the final boss was really easy. The secret upgrades were handed to you for beating mini bosses in some levels so their wasn’t even difficulty in exploration making this the easiest Mega Man game I have ever played.

Mega Man 8 is a really interesting game in the series, it changed the balance of the game play style that the series was known for which was a nice change of pace although some of the new ideas were really frustrating. I was really disappointed with the robot masters in this game because to me none of them really stood out and they were quite forgetful. The game is really easy for the most part which makes this a nice game to start with if you are new to the series and are not wanting to be too invested with the ongoing plot of the past games.

Mega Man 9 (2008)

Megaman9cover

As Mega Man 9 was never released on physical media, we will instead be looking at its virtual art work.

This is much better looking than the Mega Man 8 box art however Mega Man has got some weird design choices and while the Dr Wily in the background is really cool he is absolutely terrifying and looks nothing like he does in any of the games.

mm9

Once again not long after Wily’s last defeat Robots across the world begin to malfunction and attack the city. These robots actually belong to Dr Light and due to this he is arrested. Dr Wily asks civilians for donations to build new peace keeping robots to fix all of the damages, Mega Man knows that Wily cannot be trusted so he heads out to defeat him once again while finding evidence to help clear Dr Lights good name.

Mega Man Legacy Collection 2_20170810172502

First thing to note is that this game takes a lot of inspiration from the original NES games, and the first addition brought over is that you can choose from all eight robot masters from the get go.

maxresdefault (1)

The game uses a very similar colour palette and design to the NES games and I dont mind this, its very nostalgic and does not take away from the experience.

Gtl2n

The robot masters are really fun, my favourite stage and fight is Galaxy man, this game was also the first Mega Man to have a female robot master (Splash Woman). The game even has a great soundtrack and is in my opinion the best soundtrack in any of the main series Mega Man games up to this point so for the most part this game is practically flawless.

I do have one complaint though, they removed the slide ability and charging up the Mega Buster which does not make a lot of sense as they have been a part of the series since they were first introduced but apart from this Mega Man 9 is a great game and one of my favourites.

Mega Man 10 (2010)

Updcover

Once again this game only ever released digitally so we will have to look at the digital art, and this artwork is absolutely amazing, it is my favourite out of all of the main series Mega Man box art, there so are so many details and fantastic illustrations to admire making this a very solid piece of art.

mm10

An outbreak of a rare robot disease call robenza has spread across the world and has infected thousands of robots leaving them very sick and close to a complete shutdown. A month after the outbreak Dr Wily crashes into Dr Lights lab claiming that he was attacked by Robenza affected robots who were trying to steal a Medicine machine he was building to create a cure, Mega Man agrees to defeat the robots and get the parts needed for Wily to build the machine, he heads off to find the robot masters feeling unsure as to whether he should trust Wily.

MM10 Proto Man

The game allows the player to play as either Mega Man, Proto Man and eventually Bass, I played as Mega Man but all of characters have unique dialogue and some difference in how they attack although apart from this the base game remains the same.

download (1)

Mega Man 10 follows the same inspirations as Mega Man 9 so all of the robot masters are available from the beginning and the game play remains very much the same with some differences if playing as Proto Man or Bass adding some replay value.

Mega Man Legacy Collection 2_20180116184833

The stage designs are much harder and in some way more creative and fun, I really like strike mans stage and nitro mans stage, the robot master fights are also much more tricky in this game so players will have to use patience and clever thinking to avoid damage and win the battles. The levels are really short which I believe is because of the increase of difficulty.

MM10WilyCapsuleScreen

I wouldn’t normally talk about a final boss however I feel I need to at this point, this form of Dr Wily is called Wily Capsule and it has appeared in so many times that I am honestly a little sick of seeing it and wish that they would come up with some new ideas for a final form, it is slightly different in this game as there is a fake Wily as well but I would like to a see a different Wily form when I eventually get around to Mega Man 11

Mega Man 10 is a really fun Mega Man game that I really enjoyed, its not one of my favourites however I do appreciate that it added the ability to play as different characters which is something that was new to the main series.

With the games of the collection finished I want to briefly discuss the bonus features in this collection.

tcfUxY7

Each game has 10 challenges that players can attempt, the requirements for each challenge do vary, it might be a boss rush, beating a stage without taking damage or beating challenges in set time limits and more.

OQTSiF

You can play music from all four games to your hearts content in the music player mode and you can look at game art for all of the games in the museum mode.

This is a really good collection and I really enjoyed it however there are two things from the first legacy collection that never carried over to here and it really sucks, the first is the ability to play the Japanese versions of the games and secondly is you can no longer use save states, the game does add save states as checkpoints but its not the same as saving whenever you want too, this did not really affect me as I have been playing Mega Man games for a long time now but its absence was still noted.

Mega Man Legacy Collection 2 gets a 9.2/10

Its was fun to return to this series and I cannot wait to get around to Mega Man 11 and the other Legacy Collections that have been released

I hope you enjoyed this review of Mega Man Legacy Collection 2

If you would like to help support the website please use the donation button at the top of the page, your donations will help to improve the website by allowing me to afford products to review and to be able to execute any costly updates and changes, any amount in donations are welcome.

Thank You for all of your support.

Want me to review a specific game/movie/product or do you have a general question you would like me to answer? if so please email me at ragglefragglereviews@gmail.com