The Legend of Zelda: Links Awakening (Nintendo Gameboy/Nintendo Switch) Review

hqdefault

The Legend of Zelda: Links Awakening was released in 1993 for the Nintendo Gameboy, it was the first handheld game in the series and is by far the strangest. The game was re-released in 1998 for the Gameboy colour which is the version I am going to be focusing on in this review. I will be discussing the 2019 remake for the Nintendo Switch as well in order to see if it is better than the original.

links_awakening_title

After the events of The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past, Link travels by boat to various islands to train his skills however during one of his voyages a storm destroys the boat and causes him to be washed up on Koholint Island.

download

He is rescued by a young girl called Marin who takes him to her house, after Link recovers his sword a mysterious owl tells him that he must wake up the wind fish to go home, the wind fish is inside of a giant egg on top of a mountain and Link must recover eight instruments from dungeons to wake him up.

download

images

026

046

Links awakening mostly follows a very similar pattern to the games before it as you will need to travel across Koholint Island solving puzzles, meeting new characters, discovering dungeons and defeating bosses, two new items are introduced in this game, one of them is rocs feather which allows Link to jump over small gaps and attack flying enemies and the other is the Ocarina which Link can learn to play music on to trigger events in the game such as teleportation, raising the dead and eventually opening the final dungeon.

10881653-3

2D side scrolling sections return in this game but they are executed much better than they were in Zelda 2, these are short and sweet and are a lot of fun, they are also the best places to find enemies from the Super Mario series. Mario enemies are all over this game its really cool and fits the sillier nature of the title, when you play the game you will realise that it is quite silly and comedic, this a Zelda game that does not need to be taken seriously and that is something I would like to see more of in the future.

400px-LA_P_002

There are a few things that I feel really hold back this game from being one of the better games in the series. The map is really confusing as nothing is easy to find, almost all of the buildings look the same and are labelled as shops, I really wanted to collect all of the photographer pictures but when I tried to find the the building before I took on the final boss I could not find it and eventually gave up.

I also think that a lot of secrets or dungeons are too cryptic and hard to figure out in this title, some things are more obvious than others but a lot of the time because the dungeons all look so similar you will find your self pulling out your hair trying to get through them.

I think all of these issues could have been fixed with some labels added to the map and I can only hope that the 2019 version of the game fixes this.

la7-5c (1)

Visually the game looks really good, for the gameboy’s limitations the developers pushed the system to put out  lots of colours and great animations.

I love this soundtrack, its really charming and fits the games setting really well, there are some classic Zelda tracks thrown in so you cant really go wrong, my favourite music is from Mabe village.

The Legend of Zelda: Links Awakening is an odd game to say the least, its very charming and to a lot of people its one of the best in the series, I personally enjoy the game but I don’t think it doesn’t have its faults. The confusing map added a lot of stress to my play-through but apart from that this is a good title and I would like to see a sillier game in the series again.

Recently the game has been remade for the Nintendo Switch

cq5dam.thumbnail.319.319

On September 20th 2019 a new HD remake of Links Awakening was released on the Nintendo Switch, the game came with a beautiful graphical upgrade and new and impressive renditions of the music, the new soundtrack is fantastic and is just as enjoyable as the originals soundtrack.

Here is the soundtrack if you would like the compare the two

Unfortunately due to the game only releasing in the last 24 hours I could only find the soundtrack as one video however the up-loader has added time marks to skip tracks.

This game is filled with bug fixes and small improvements to the original game but I am only going to focus on the changes that I feel will have the biggest impact on returning players.
3542490-zelda 9

I love the new visuals, the game is extremely colourful and is a joy to look at, the designers took a very child friendly and almost toy inspired design for the game and it suits the silly nature of the adventure perfectly. the game is packed with wonderful visuals and smooth animations including a fully animated opening cut scene.

Switch_TLOZLinksAwakening_E3_screen_06_bmp_jpgcopy.0

Some other important changes are new ways to play some of the minigames which are now much more challenging in my opinion, a much easier to read map that allows the player to place markers, the option to choose where to land after using warp pads and key items being assigned to buttons meaning that players do not have to go the inventory all of the time.

dims

For me the worst part of the remake is its dungeon creator mode which replaces the photography in the game, players can use areas from dungeons they have finished to build new dungeons that they and their friends can play through. I generally do not enjoy creative game experiences like this so the loss of the photography which was my favourite part of the original game was a little upsetting for me.

Lack of photography or not it would be unfair to say that this is not the superior version of the game, it looks and sounds better and makes the experience a little less tedious than it used to be and that is exactly what you should expect from a remake, the developers put their hearts and souls into this and the outcome was a very good Zelda remaster.

Links Awakening DX – 8.4/10

Links Awakening 2019 – 9.3/10

I hope you enjoyed this review of The Legend of Zelda: Links Awakening

If you would like to help support the website please use the donation button at the top of the page, your donations will help to improve the website by allowing me to afford products to review and to be able to execute any costly updates and changes, any amount in donations are welcome.

Thank You for all of your support.

Want me to review a specific game/movie/product or do you have a general question you would like me to answer? if so please email me at ragglefragglereviews@gmail.com

Advertisements

Mega Man Legacy Collection 2 (2017) Review

I would recommend reading my review of  the first Mega Man Legacy Collection before reading this review

https://ragglefragglereviews.com/2018/02/24/mega-man-legacy-collection-2015-review/

Mega Man Legacy Collection 2 is a set of Mega Man games that was released in 2017, the set contains Mega Man 7 through 10

I really enjoyed the original Mega Man Legacy Collection so I was eager to dive into this one when I got the chance.

Mega Man 7 (1995)

81o99xyQoGL._AC_SL1500_

Wow Capcom really stepped up their box art game for this one, its really awesome and has loads of detail, the past games had some interesting box art but most of them were quite odd choices for the games they represented.

MM7-Promo-Art

Six months after finally imprisoning Dr Wily, Dr Wily’s Laboratory reactivates releasing four robot masters who have been programmed to find their master, these Robots attack Dr Light and bring chaos to the city, all of this was a ruse to cover his escape from prison leaving Mega Man to once again set out to defeat Wily and save the day.

hqdefaultThe start really puts a lot players off at first is because it begins with an introduction stage that has a lot of unskippable dialogue the second reason is that at first due to the plot of the game you can only choose to fight four robot masters which is a step down compared to the previous games which allowed you to pick from all eight.

largeApart from these two things the rest of the game is really great, it adds so much to franchise that really brought a lot to the table. The game looks fantastic thanks to its 16 bit upgrade, it has a lot of fluent animations and very innovative stage and enemy designs.

hqdefault (1)

The game is packed to the brim with secrets and hidden upgrades to add to your arsenal, stages have multiple paths that can be found in order to obtain these secrets adding a lot of replay value to the game.

MM7_RightotShop2

A shop has finally been introduced to the series making it much easier to obtain Energy Tanks. Lives and Weapon Energy, you can purchase these with currency you can find in the game.

MM7_DWno55_ShadeMan

The robot masters in this game are really cool, they all have very well themed stages and all their attacks patterns match their personalities perfectly my favourite stage and fight in the game is against Shade Man.

I really like this game but many people do not and while I understand why that is, I had a lot of fun with this one, it added a lot to the series and the secrets are really fun to find especially Proto man and if you find him enough times in the game you can fight him to obtain his shield. I will say that this game is really hard and it is not very forgiving the final boss almost made me rage quit which does not often happen for me.

Mega Man 8 (1997)

mega_man_8_gh__51996.1397742076

I think this might be the worst box art we have come across so far, its really boring and has almost no detail to it apart from Mega Man himself who to be fair looks great.

Mm8promo

Two Robots fall from space after fighting each other, at this time Mega Man and Rush are also in an intense battle against rival Bass however the fight is interrupted by Roll who brings a message from Dr Light asking Mega Man to investigate strange energy readings he picked up on an Island that is close by. On the Island Dr Wily is spotted flying away with a purple orb. Mega Man chases down Dr Wily soon to discover new robot masters and the fallen robots.

maxresdefault

There was a lot of changes to this game and for the most part they work well enough, the first is the new graphics, due to the game taking place on a disc based system it was able to push extremely smooth animations and the visuals were the best we had seen in a Mega Man game so far, they even had voices for characters during game-play which helped to add a lot of personality.

download

Another addition thanks to Disc technology was fully animated cut-scenes and even though the voice acting was abysmal the animations were amazing.

109100-mega-man-8-anniversary-edition-playstation-screenshot-stage

You can still only choose from four robot masters at first but again it makes sense due to the way the plot develops in the game, I do miss being able to choose out of all eight though. The shop also returns here but its for upgrades to Mega Man and his Mega Buster as energy, weapon and super tanks are not in the game.

CXcIDY

The game really mixes up its game play by adding new maze platforming sections and terrible on rails sections that will have you tearing your hair out. These on rails sections are the hardest part of the game and while they are extremely annoying the rest of the game is a breeze, I found no trouble in surviving and beating bosses, even the final boss was really easy. The secret upgrades were handed to you for beating mini bosses in some levels so their wasn’t even difficulty in exploration making this the easiest Mega Man game I have ever played.

Mega Man 8 is a really interesting game in the series, it changed the balance of the game play style that the series was known for which was a nice change of pace although some of the new ideas were really frustrating. I was really disappointed with the robot masters in this game because to me none of them really stood out and they were quite forgetful. The game is really easy for the most part which makes this a nice game to start with if you are new to the series and are not wanting to be too invested with the ongoing plot of the past games.

Mega Man 9 (2008)

Megaman9cover

As Mega Man 9 was never released on physical media, we will instead be looking at its virtual art work.

This is much better looking than the Mega Man 8 box art however Mega Man has got some weird design choices and while the Dr Wily in the background is really cool he is absolutely terrifying and looks nothing like he does in any of the games.

mm9

Once again not long after Wily’s last defeat Robots across the world begin to malfunction and attack the city. These robots actually belong to Dr Light and due to this he is arrested. Dr Wily asks civilians for donations to build new peace keeping robots to fix all of the damages, Mega Man knows that Wily cannot be trusted so he heads out to defeat him once again while finding evidence to help clear Dr Lights good name.

Mega Man Legacy Collection 2_20170810172502

First thing to note is that this game takes a lot of inspiration from the original NES games, and the first addition brought over is that you can choose from all eight robot masters from the get go.

maxresdefault (1)

The game uses a very similar colour palette and design to the NES games and I dont mind this, its very nostalgic and does not take away from the experience.

Gtl2n

The robot masters are really fun, my favourite stage and fight is Galaxy man, this game was also the first Mega Man to have a female robot master (Splash Woman). The game even has a great soundtrack and is in my opinion the best soundtrack in any of the main series Mega Man games up to this point so for the most part this game is practically flawless.

I do have one complaint though, they removed the slide ability and charging up the Mega Buster which does not make a lot of sense as they have been a part of the series since they were first introduced but apart from this Mega Man 9 is a great game and one of my favourites.

Mega Man 10 (2010)

Updcover

Once again this game only ever released digitally so we will have to look at the digital art, and this artwork is absolutely amazing, it is my favourite out of all of the main series Mega Man box art, there so are so many details and fantastic illustrations to admire making this a very solid piece of art.

mm10

An outbreak of a rare robot disease call robenza has spread across the world and has infected thousands of robots leaving them very sick and close to a complete shutdown. A month after the outbreak Dr Wily crashes into Dr Lights lab claiming that he was attacked by Robenza affected robots who were trying to steal a Medicine machine he was building to create a cure, Mega Man agrees to defeat the robots and get the parts needed for Wily to build the machine, he heads off to find the robot masters feeling unsure as to whether he should trust Wily.

MM10 Proto Man

The game allows the player to play as either Mega Man, Proto Man and eventually Bass, I played as Mega Man but all of characters have unique dialogue and some difference in how they attack although apart from this the base game remains the same.

download (1)

Mega Man 10 follows the same inspirations as Mega Man 9 so all of the robot masters are available from the beginning and the game play remains very much the same with some differences if playing as Proto Man or Bass adding some replay value.

Mega Man Legacy Collection 2_20180116184833

The stage designs are much harder and in some way more creative and fun, I really like strike mans stage and nitro mans stage, the robot master fights are also much more tricky in this game so players will have to use patience and clever thinking to avoid damage and win the battles. The levels are really short which I believe is because of the increase of difficulty.

MM10WilyCapsuleScreen

I wouldn’t normally talk about a final boss however I feel I need to at this point, this form of Dr Wily is called Wily Capsule and it has appeared in so many times that I am honestly a little sick of seeing it and wish that they would come up with some new ideas for a final form, it is slightly different in this game as there is a fake Wily as well but I would like to a see a different Wily form when I eventually get around to Mega Man 11

Mega Man 10 is a really fun Mega Man game that I really enjoyed, its not one of my favourites however I do appreciate that it added the ability to play as different characters which is something that was new to the main series.

With the games of the collection finished I want to briefly discuss the bonus features in this collection.

tcfUxY7

Each game has 10 challenges that players can attempt, the requirements for each challenge do vary, it might be a boss rush, beating a stage without taking damage or beating challenges in set time limits and more.

OQTSiF

You can play music from all four games to your hearts content in the music player mode and you can look at game art for all of the games in the museum mode.

This is a really good collection and I really enjoyed it however there are two things from the first legacy collection that never carried over to here and it really sucks, the first is the ability to play the Japanese versions of the games and secondly is you can no longer use save states, the game does add save states as checkpoints but its not the same as saving whenever you want too, this did not really affect me as I have been playing Mega Man games for a long time now but its absence was still noted.

Mega Man Legacy Collection 2 gets a 9.2/10

Its was fun to return to this series and I cannot wait to get around to Mega Man 11 and the other Legacy Collections that have been released

I hope you enjoyed this review of Mega Man Legacy Collection 2

If you would like to help support the website please use the donation button at the top of the page, your donations will help to improve the website by allowing me to afford products to review and to be able to execute any costly updates and changes, any amount in donations are welcome.

Thank You for all of your support.

Want me to review a specific game/movie/product or do you have a general question you would like me to answer? if so please email me at ragglefragglereviews@gmail.com

 

Scooby-Doo, Where are you!(1969-1970) Review

Scooby-Doo, Where are you! is an animated series about four teenagers and a great dane that work together to solve spooky mysteries.

Joe_RubyKen_Spears

The show was created by Joe Ruby and Ken Spears and it was directed by Joseph Barbera and William Hanna.

maxresdefault

The show starred five primary characters Shaggy a hippie, Velma a brainac, Daphnie a pretty girl with red hair that often needed rescuing, Fred a jock and the natural leader of the group, Fred also drives the gangs vehicle the mystery machine and finally Scooby-Doo a silly, loyal and cowardly great dane.

Great characters need a good voice cast and luckily the casting here was perfect – unfortunately a lot of the original voice actors have now passed away but their legacy will always live on.

Don Messick – Scooby-Doo

220px-Don_Messick

Casey Kasem – Shaggy

Casey_Kasem

Frank Welker – Fred

220px-Frank_Welker

Indira Stefianna – Daphne (Season 1)

indira-stefanianna-christopherson-52.8

Heather North  – Daphne (Season 2)

download

Nicole Jaffe – Velma

Nicole_Jaffe

 

scooby-doo

Im not going to review every episode of the show as they are all very similar in premise and follow the same formula which is.

A paranormal monster is scaring away locals.

The Mystery Gang find a clue and decide to solve the mystery.

Mystery gang speak to someone who has seen the monster

Gang splits up and searches for clues

Shaggy and Scooby do something comedic

A gang member finds a clue which shows that the paranormal monster is not real

The gang sets a trap and catches the monster

Velma explains how they caught the monster to the authorities

Fred removes the mask and discovers its the person they spoke to earlier.

MV5BZWUxNWI1MmYtMzU1MC00YTRlLTlkMjktYzQ5OTQ3NTQ1YzQyXkEyXkFqcGdeQXVyMTYwNDQwMzA@._V1_

A simple formula but very effective, but this formula would not have been as great with out some outstanding monster designs and Scooby-Doo, Where Are you! had lots of great monsters. Below are some of my favourites.

The Puppet Master

Pupp

Ghost Clown

Ghost_Clown's_whistle

Spooky Space Kook

Spooky_Space_Kook

Compared to later versions of Scooby-Doo some of the visuals in this version are actually quite scary, especially some of the monsters, The Space Kook is particularly terrifying which is one of the reasons why its one of my favourite Scooby-Doo baddies.

The shows iconic theme song didn’t actually start until the second season which is something I didn’t realise until I re-watched the series ready for this review.

The second season also introduced some original music that played during chase sequences, this is something that becomes a series staple in some future versions of the show.

For its two season run Scooby-Doo, Where are you was an outstanding start to what would eventually become a massive franchise that is still relevant to this day and while its comedy and some of its dialogue may feel a little outdated now it still manages to withhold its charm and overall likeability making this a show that has really stood the test of time.

There was a revival third season that was released in 1978 however I will cover this in a future Scooby-Doo Review

I hope you enjoyed this review of Scooby-Doo, Where are you!

If you would like to help support the website please use the donation button at the top of the page, your donations will help to improve the website by allowing me to afford products to review and to be able to execute any costly updates and changes, any amount in donations are welcome.

Thank You for all of your support.

Want me to review a specific game/movie/product or do you have a general question you would like me to answer? if so please email me at ragglefragglereviews@gmail.com

Pikmin 2 (2004) Review

I recommend reading my review of the original Pikmin game before reading this one.

https://ragglefragglereviews.com/2019/01/23/pikmin-2001-review/

51IRPdlAbmL._SY445_

Pikmin 2 was the much anticipated sequel to Pikmin, it was released in 2004 for the Nintendo Gamecube, the game was also re-released on the Nintendo Wii in 2009.

maxresdefault

After returning to the Planet Hocotate, Captain Olimar returns to his workplace only to find that it has been hit with serious financial difficulties leaving it to be in debt.

Olimar drops a bottle cap that he brought back from the Pikmin Planet, the bottle cap was meant to be a gift for his son but it instead gets sold at a value of 100 Pokos, the President of the company recognises the value of treasures on the Planet and sends Olimar as well as Louie back to the planet to help wipe out the companies debt.

ETpV4C

In the game your main goal is to collect enough hidden treasures to pay off the company debt and after you have done this you must return to the Pikmin planet to collect the remaining treasures in order to unlock the canon ending to the game.

These treasures are far more fun to collect than they are in the first game because here the collectables are mostly recognisable brands which finally identifies the planet the game takes place on, the series takes place on the planet earth and in my personal opinion I believe the series takes place after the extinction of the human race which would explain the lack of human characters in the world.

maxresdefault (1)

The main gameplay is essentially the same as the first game, you will need to use your Pikmin creatures to destroy enemies and bosses, solve puzzles and collect treaures. However this time you control two Captains which you can swap between to help take on bosses and enemies from different angles or to commit to multiple tasks in a similar time frame, I tend to use Louie as an assistant to Olimar, and tend to allow Louie to take the brunt of most enemies while Olimar kills them.

5z2ICW

This game introduces caves to the series, caves are great and are my favourite part of Pikmin 2, they each have a set number of levels each with treasures hidden on each floor, players will have to solve each floors puzzles and try to survive as well as take good care of their Pikmin. You can get major profits if you manage to complete these caves and the best part is that time is frozen in the caves so you do not need to worry about your Pikmin being devoured by the beasts of the night.

You can do more caves which are much more difficult in the challenge mode of the game.

The game does not have a time limit like the first one does so exploration and taking your time makes the adventure much more enjoyable and relaxed in my opinion.

Pik2PurpPik

The game introduces two new Pikmin types the first is purple Pikmin, these guys each have the strength of 10 Pikmin’s, they are very useful for carrying heavy items and taking out stronger enemies but they are slower than the other types.

19974c0275b0c3b7215931c58789d6567a1667eb_00

The white Pikmin’s are creepy looking with their red eyes, these guys are very fast, can dig up buried treasures and are also poisonous so they cannot be affected by poison and if an enemy eats them they can do some major damage.

It should also be noted that the yellow Pikmin can no longer carry bombs like they could in the first game and here they are instead invulnerable to electricity.

Empress_Bulblax_beta

The boss fights are very creative and in my opinion are better here than they were in first game, you tend to fight them at the end of caves and they are really tough, you need study the boss patterns before taking Pikmin into the fight this will help you to decide what Pikmin you will need and the best way to win with minimal Pikmin loss.

Pikmin-2-Review-Screenshot-1

The graphics here are a little better and I think because of how many Pikmin the game allows on screen at one time, I feel that an increase of graphical capabilities would most likely cause lag so I do not really see this as a problem.

I really enjoy the soundtrack to Pikmin 2 but something about it feels a little lacking and not quite as enjoyable as the original games soundtrack, I don’t feel like a lot of these tracks do not suit the areas that they play in either but overall its still nice to listen too.

Pikmin 2 is a fantastic game, it is so much fun to play through and is extremely satisfying when you collect the treasures. The plot is hilarious and the messages that you get from your boss throughout the game are really funny. The lack of a time limit makes the game more enjoyable as you don’t feel like you have to rush through it and even while its soundtrack was not the best, everything else about the game is charming and wonderful. If you find the original game too hard or frustrating there is no harm in skipping to this one for a challenging but in my opinion much fairer experience.

8.8/10

I hope you enjoyed this review of Pikmin 2

If you would like to help support the website please use the donation button at the top of the page, your donations will help to improve the website by allowing me to afford products to review and to be able to execute any costly updates and changes, any amount in donations are welcome.

Thank You for all of your support.

Want me to review a specific game/movie/product or do you have a general question you would like me to answer? if so please email me at ragglefragglereviews@gmail.com

The Legend of Zelda Majoras Mask (N64,3DS) Review

The_Legend_of_Zelda_-_Majora's_Mask_Box_Art

The Legend Of Zelda: Majoras Mask was released in 2000, it was the second game in the series to be released on the Nintendo 64 and it was a direct sequel to the excellent Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time.

I will be discussing the original game in this review although I will talk about the Nintendo 3DS remake at the end of the review to note any major changes and improvements.

164b4011-2552-4442-9d0e-5292a85054ed

Months after defeating Ganondorf and saving the Kingdom of Hyrule our hero Link travels by horseback across Hyrule to find his long lost companion Navi his trusted fairy partner who left him at the end of Ocarina of Time.

a7870583-fbfb-4b75-8b44-8ce73940aca0

In a forest two michevous Fairies Tatl and Tael knock Link off of his horse Epona leaving him unconcious, not long after the Skull Kid comes to link and steals the Ocarina of time, Link wakes up and chases the Skull Kid into a dark cave where he is turned into a Deku Scrub.

9CRIe2

Link ends up in a land called Temina, Termina is within an alternative reality to Hyrule and therefore characters from Ocarina of time are here with different characteristics and motives. Eventually Links meets the Happy Mask Salesman who explains that if Link can get his Ocarina Back he can return to his human form, Link has three days to do this before the moon crashes into the clock tower destroying everything and everyone that resides in Termina.  But getting the Ocarina back is only the beginning of this as just like its predecessor Link will need to commit to a lot of time travel to end up victorious.

26a394e4-1a41-4760-88a4-5181275f1a33

In Majoras Mask you need to use your trusty Ocarina to either restart, slowdown or speed up a three day cycle which you will need repeat various times throughout the game. While this can get annoying it is easy to get the hang of my advice is to restart the cycle after every major task you complete for example (Dungeons, Defeating the aliens at the farm, or helping Anju and Kafei)

da726003cde37d7949b0b26ea5863581

What I really hate about this is that even though you can store rupees in the bank all of your other smaller items such as bombs, arrows, big barrels, deku nuts, deku sticks etc are completely wiped out every time you start a new cycle and while it is easy enough to replace these items by slashing bushes and throwing rocks it is still very time consuming and considering that the task you may have planned needs to be finished within a three day cycle this can be very frustrating at times.

This reset also happens to dungeons which I was unfortunate to realise when I ran out of time during a difficult boss battle in the stone temple, because I ran out of time, I had to recollect all of my items, and do the temple from the beginning beating every enemy, solving every puzzle and finding every key just to have a shot at beating the boss again.

majoras-mask-item-screen-1

There are a lot of collectable masks in the game and while a lot of them are not necessary all of them have a unique purpose.

hqdefault

maxresdefault

cced355c-ebad-4654-a866-3d0ea7671449

The Deku Mask, the Goron Mask and the Zora Mask are all necessary to beat the game, each of these masks fully transform Link into different creatures.

The Deku Mask allows Link to fly, bounce on water and burrow into flowers before being propelled into the air.

The Goron Mask gives Link increased strength and the ability to curl into a ball to smash down large barriers

And the Zora Mask helps link to swim really fast and swim under water, he can even throw Zora boomerangs underwater.

maxresdefault (1)

There are 21 additional Masks you can collect in the game by far the most useful of all of these is the bunny hood which helps Link to run faster.

Other masks worth noting are the great fairy mask that can draw missing fairies close to Link, The pirates hat that can be used to command Stalfos, the Gibdo Mask that can be used to communicate with Gibdo without them eating your face and the giants mask that changes Links height to be much larger helping him to defeat one of the dungeon bosses in the game.

Majoras Mask is extremely Dark for a Zelda game and its one of the best parts of the game in my opinion. I wont list all of the dark moments here but I will briefly cover what I consider the darkest.

I want to believe

The Alien invasion on Romani Ranch is one of the most fun side quests in the game but if you fail up to fend off the alien creatures they actually abduct the young girl Romani and her cows, they also wipe her memory before returning her to earth.

009

In Ikana Canyon a little girl does not want anyone coming near her house screaming that her father “Is not one of you” after some puzzle solving Link can enter the house where he finds out that this poor girls father has been turned into a Gibdo.

300px-Finalday

The Final Day of Majoras Mask is depressing, half of clock town has ran away and those who remain are waiting for eventual death in the next 24 hours, even the music is depressing and creepy which does not give the player much hope that they will survive.

1ae12c90-0d98-41a6-b3e1-f08289517fdc

For how dark Majoras Mask is it still has a lot of charm, comedy and creativity when it comes to its side content, I love the side quests in this game and even though some require redoing particular parts of dungeons and some can take an entire cycle to complete on their own, I kept going back to them because I wanted to see a happy ending for every character in the game and it was the dark nature of the game that helped push me to finish the side quests.

Majoras Mask has a great soundtrack, its not my favourite in the series but it does have some stand out moments, the best and most creepiest is the music that plays during the final six hours of a cycle, the music actually gets darker everyday of the cycle which is really cool.

The Legend of Zelda Majoras Mask is a game that I have always been unsure of as to whether I really enjoy it or not. The plot and some of the side quests are some of my favourites in the series but the repeating nature of the cycles and having to re-do segments of the game multiple times can get extremely tedious and annoying.

I love how dark the game is and the masks are a really creative way to switch up the gameplay. The game has a unique personality and packs with emotion from the moment it starts until its closing credits.

I have no issues with the controls of the game and the new ocarina songs are really useful and all have a purpose. In reality I like a lot more things about this game than I dislike about it. It can be annoying and at times I would even argue that it can be unfair but this is a really good Zelda game, its not one that I often look forward to playing but I do enjoy it 7.9/10

Majora's_Mask_3D_(EU)

In 2015 the game was remade for the Nintendo 3DS and while the majority of the game remained the same some major items such as the Stone Mask have been moved for convenience to the player, You can now fast forward time by every hour instead of every half of a day, you can add reminders that will remind you that time to commit to a particular task is drawing near, the game adds much easier permanent save locations that the player can use at their own will and some new areas such fishing holes have been added.

With these changes the remake is by far the superior version of the game and deserves a higher rating 8.2/10

I hope you enjoyed this review of The Legend of Zelda: Majoras Mask and Majoras Mask 3D

If you would like to help support the website please use the donation button at the top of the page, your donations will help to improve the website by allowing me to afford products to review and to be able to execute any costly updates and changes, any amount in donations are welcome.

Thank You for all of your support.

Want me to review a specific game/movie/product or do you have a general question you would like me to answer? if so please email me at ragglefragglereviews@gmail.com

 

Sonic Chaos (1993) Review

pjimage

Released in 1993 for the Sega Master and a month later the Sega Game Gear, Sonic Chaos was the fourth game in the series.

hqdefault

Dr Robotonik has stolen the red chaos emerald from South Island, with one of the emeralds missing, chaos and destruction are caused all over the island. Sonic and Tails are both informed that Robotnix plans to use the stolen emerald to power nuclear weapons and so they set off to put a stop to his actions and return the emerald to where it came from.

maxresdefault (1)

ms_sonicchaos_05

Ggz_boss

Sonic Chaos has two difficulty levels which are represented in the games character selection, Sonic is more difficult and has full access to the special stages in the game but has to traverse across the difficult platforming segments while Tails can fly over obstacles and even fly across water however Tails cannot access any of the special stages. Apart from this both characters play the same stages and fight the same boss battles.

SonicChaos-SMS-SpecialStage1

There are five hidden chaos emeralds in special stages through out the game, players can enter the special stages when they collect 100 rings in two stages from an Act, the gems are hidden in these stages and all of them must be collected to unlock the good ending as Sonic.

Special-Stage-4-I-Sonic-Chaos

The rocket shoes are a new item in this game and they allow Sonic to temporarily fly making some of the platforming a little bit easier.

The soundtrack is medicore for a Sonic game and to be honest it feels like it belongs somewhere other the sonic universe, the music is ok but there isn’t anything special about it .

Sonic Chaos is a fun game, I much preferred it to Sonic CD, It is very short though I managed to finish the story mode with all of the chaos emeralds in just over an hours time.  Apart from its short story mode and medicore soundtrack the game is a blast to play through and is a good way to pass time, I wouldn’t personally recommend playing as Tails as I found the game easy enough playing it as Sonic.

Sonic Chaos is a good Sonic game but it is far from one of the best 7/10

I hope you enjoyed this review of Sonic Chaos.

If you would like to help support the website please use the donation button at the top of the page, your donations will help to improve the website by allowing me to afford products to review and to be able to execute any costly updates and changes, any amount in donations are welcome.

Thank You for all of your support.

Want me to review a specific game/movie/product or do you have a general question you would like me to answer? if so please email me at ragglefragglereviews@gmail.com

 

 

The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past Review

The_Legend_of_Zelda_A_Link_to_the_Past_SNES_Game_Cover

The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past is the third installment to Nintendo’s popular action-adventure series of video games. It was released for the Super Nintendo Entertainment System in 1991 in Japan and 1992 in the USA and Europe.

03The game begins with our hero waking up after being communicated to by Princess Zelda in a dream, Zelda tells Link that she has been locked in the dungeons of Hyrule castle.

Links Uncle is preparing to rescue the princess demanding that Link does not follow him to the castle, Link ignores his uncles command breaks into Hyrule Castle where he finds his Uncle mortally wounded, he hands link his sword and shield before he dies and Link is left to rescue the Princess.

After rescuing Zelda and escaping to the sanctuary a priest tells Link of an evil wizard called Agahnim who has taken over Hyrule and is planning to break an ancient seal in order to release Ganon. Link is sent to find the Master Sword and rescue seven maidens who can help him to defeat Agahnim before its too late.

jrK5z

Zelda-LttP-Screenshot-1

maxresdefault

the-legend-of-zelda-a-link-to-the-past-bosses-5

In a similar manner to other Legend of Zelda games, you will need to travel far across the land of Hyrule on your quest, you will traverse many different terrains, discover hidden villages, conquer dungeons and meet many characters along the way.

New items were introduced in this game including the Hookshot, the Pegasus boots and even the Master Sword!!.

In the game Link can travel between two realms, the light world and the dark world, each realm is an alternate reality and they both have unique dungeons and area layouts.

004

The Puzzles are really fun here and they require a lot of thought to figure them out, the game is also full of really cool secrets and hidden mini-games that you can play. In a way this is the Zelda game that really nailed the formula for what Zelda games would become.

424786-the-legend-of-zelda-a-link-to-the-past-snes-screenshot-what

The visuals are outstanding, the artistic realism that was put into the game really helped to make the experience of the game much more immersive, magnificent and in some parts scary.

In general the visuals are some of the best you would ever see on the Super Nintendo and no game in the series was as impressive from a visual perspective as this one was and the only exception in my opinion is Breath of the Wild which also pushed its system close to its graphical limits.

The Super Nintendo had a fantastic sound chip that was able to produce some wonderful and memorable video game soundtracks, a Link to the Past is no exception and its music composed by Koji Kondo is one of my favourites from the Super Nintendo library.

hqdefault

The Legend of Zelda: a Link to the Past is one of greatest video games ever made, it by far made up for the disappointment that was Zelda 2 and it helped to shape the Zelda series into what it is today.

The game is fairly flawless, It can be very difficult at times but with enough practice and by finding the many secrets hidden across the map you will eventually survive its difficult dungeons, puzzles and boss battles.

Its one of my favourite Super Nintendo games and while its not my favourite game is the series it is definitely one of the best 10/10

I hope you enjoyed this review of The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past

If you would like to help support the website please use the donation button at the top of the page, your donations will help to improve the website by allowing me to afford products to review and to be able to execute any costly updates and changes, any amount in donations are welcome.

Thank You for all of your support.

Want me to review a specific game/movie/product or do you have a general question you would like me to answer? if so please email me at ragglefragglereviews@gmail.com